Class Features

As a psion, you gain the following class features:

Hit Points

Hit Dice: 1d6 per Psion level

Hit Points at 1st Level: 6 + your Constitution modifier

Hit Points at Higher Levels: 1d6 (or 4) + your Constitution modifier per psion level after 1st


Armor: None

Weapons: Simple weapons

Tools: None

Saving Throws: Intelligence, Wisdom

Skills: Choose two from Arcana, History, Insight, Medicine, Nature, Perception, and Religion


You start with the following equipment, in addition to the equipment granted by your background:

  • (a) a spear or (b) a mace
  • (a) a light crossbow and 20 bolts or (b) any simple weapon
  • (a) a scholar’s pack or (b) an explorer’s pack

Alternatively, you can ignore the equipment here and in your background, and buy 5d4 x 10 gp worth of equipment from chapter 5 in the Player’s Handbook.


As a student of psionics, you can master and use psionic talents and disciplines, the rules for which appear at the end of this document. Psionics is a special form of magic use, distinct from spellcasting

Psionic Talents

A psionic talent is a minor psionic effect you have mastered. At 1st level, you know one psionic talent of your choice. You learn additional talents of your choice at higher levels. The talents known column of the Mystic table shows the number of talents you know at each level. When that number goes up for you, choose a new talent.

Psionic Disciplines

A psionic discipline is a rigid set of mental exercises that allow a psion to manifest psionic power. A psion masters only a few disciplines at a time.

At 1st level, you know one psionic discipline of your choice. The Disciplines Known column of the Psionic table shows the total number of disciplines that you know at each level; when that number goes up for you, choose a new discipline.

In addition, whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one discipline you know with a different one of your choice.

Psi Points

You have an internal reservoir of energy that can be devoted to psionic disciplines you know. This energy is represented by psi points. Each psionic discipline describes effects you can create with it by spending a certain number of psi points. A psionic talent requires no psi points. The number of psi points you have is based on your mystic level, as shown in the Psi Points column of the Mystic table. The number shown for your level is your psi point maximum. Your psi point total returns to its maximum when you finish a long rest. The number of psi points you have can’t go below 0 or over your maximum.

Psi Limit

Though you have access to a potent amount of psionic energy, it takes training and practice to channel that energy. There is a limit on the number of psi points you can spend to activate a psionic discipline. The limit is based on your mystic level, as shown in the Psi Limit column of the Mystic table. For example, as a 3rd-level mystic, you can spend no more than 3 psi points on a discipline each time you use it, no matter how many psi points you have.

Psychic Focus

You can focus psionic energy on one of your psionic disciplines to draw ongoing benefits from it. As a bonus action, you can choose one of your psionic disciplines and gain its psychic focus benefit, which is detailed in that discipline’s description. The benefit lasts until you are incapacitated or until you use another bonus action to choose a different focus benefit. You can have only one psychic focus benefit at a time, and using the psychic focus of one discipline doesn’t limit your ability to use other disciplines.

Psionic Ability

Intelligence is your psionic ability for your psionic disciplines. You use your Intelligence modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a psionic discipline or when making an attack roll with one.

Discipline save DC = 8 + Discipline attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier

Discipline attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier

Psionic Order

At 1st level, you can choose a Mystic Order: the Order of the Avatar, the Order of the Awakened, the Order of the Immortal, the Order of the Nomad, the Order of the Soul Knife, or the Order of the Wu Jen, each of which is detailed at the end of the class description. Each order specializes in a specific approach to psionics.

Your order gives you features when you choose it at 1st level and additional features at 3rd, 6th, and 14th level.


At 1st level, your mind awakens to the ability to communicate via telepathy. You can telepathically speak to any creature you can see within 120 feet of you in this manner. You don’t need to share a language with the creature for it to understand your telepathic messages, but the creature must be able to understand at least one language or be telepathic itself.

Breadth of Knowledge

At 2nd level, you gain the ability to extend your knowledge. When you finish a long rest, you gain two proficiencies of your choice from tools, skills, or languages. This benefit lasts until you finish a long rest.

Psionic Focus

Starting at 2nd level, your mastery of psionic power allows you to split your focus between two spell effects.

  • You can maintain focus on two psionic spells at once, but not the same one twice
  • Should also apply to class features
  • If you would lose concentration, pick one to lose, keep the other

Ability Score Improvement

When you reach 4th level, and again at 8th, 12th, 16th, and 19th level, you can increase one ability score of your choice by 2, or you can increase two ability scores of your choice by 1. As normal, you can’t increase an ability score above 20 using this feature.

Psionic Body

At 20th level, your mastery of psionic power causes your mind to transcend the body. Your physical form is infused with psionic energy. You gain the following benefits:

  • You gain resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage.
  • You no longer age.
  • You are immune to disease, poison damage, and the poisoned condition.
  • If you die, roll a d20. On a 10 or higher, you discorporate with 0 hit points, instead of dying, and you fall unconscious. You and your gear disappear. You appear at a spot of your choice 1d3 days later on the plane of existence where you died, having gained the benefits of one long rest.

Mystic Orders

Psionics is a mysterious form of power within most D&D worlds. Secretive orders study its origins and applications, while pushing the boundaries of what psionic power can achieve. Each of these orders pursues a specific goal for psionic power. That goal shapes how the members of an order understand psionics.

Order of the Nomad

Order of the Awakened

Order of the Shaper

Psion Disciplines


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This content was created by Dungeons & Dragons Franchise Creative Director Mike Mearls for his stream Happy Fun Hour, which you can watch live at on Tuesdays at 4:00 EST or via replays on YouTube. This material is being provided to facilitate community testing and feedback. Minor adjustments have been made to fix typographical errors or conform language to standard practices. All rights reserved Wizard of the Coast LLC.

More Happy Fun Hour Content